Bishop Stika ordains new deacons for Diocese of Knoxville

Emily Booker Diocese of Knoxville, News

Bishop Richard F. Stika ordained 23 men into the permanent diaconate in the Diocese of Knoxville on Sat., June 11 at Sacred Heart Cathedral.   This is only the second class of permanent deacons to be ordained in the diocese.  The first class of deacons were ordained in 2009.  Deacon Tim Elliott, a member of that class, is the director of the diaconate for the Diocese of Knoxville.

The 2016 class includes: Deacons Hicks Armor, Doug Bitzer, Gil Campos, John DeClue, Mike Duncan, Butch Feldhaus, Al Forsythe, Don Griffith, Steve Helmbrecht, Erasmo Hernandez, Mike Humphreys, Bob Ketteringham, Scott Maentz, Barry Maples, Steve May, Dennis Meinert, Peter Minneci, David Oatney, Walt Otey, Steve Ratterman, Phillip Talmadge, Tom Tidwell, and Fredy Vargas. A 24th deacon, Larry Rossini, will be ordained at a later date due to an illness.


This 20 minute video highlights the Rite of Ordination, which includes a promise of obedience to the bishop; the singing of the Litany of the Saints, when the candidates lay prostrate before the altar; the Laying on of Hands by Bishop Stika, including a silent prayer; and the Prayer of Consecration, which completes the rite.  The Rite of Ordination takes place during a Mass celebration.

Video by: Greg Maciolek, Jim Wogan, Emily Booker

Produced by: The Diocese of Knoxville


Photo Gallery

Photos by: Stephanie Richer and Dan McWilliams

This slideshow requires JavaScript.